The Final Fate Of Favourites

April 25, 2009

Summer Skies

I have a favourite pair of earrings that I have adored since the very moment I made them mine. They are of the the whitest silver and bejewelled with a green faceted stone that shimmers in every colour of the rainbow when hit by sunlight. Truly, they are an amazing pair of earrings adding the flair of elegance to even the most ordinary of days.

Today I went for a long walk to seek out my very favourite place; a miniature forest of nothing but beeches. Of all the trees in the world I regard beeches as my favourites, and at the peak of spring — when all the flowers are in full bloom — the small forest is a most delightful location to be; the trees towering silently above my head, their branches covered with the faintest of green sheens, the ground hidden by a cover of fallen and withered leaves.

It so happens that I upon returning home realised that my favourite earring had gone missing, and I realised that I must have dropped it while walking across the carpet of last year’s fallen leaves. It would have been impossible for me to notice a small earring falling among a thousand leaves, and so I knew the earring was lost forever, never to be found.

I had never considered the possibility of losing my very favourite piece of jewellery and of course I became very upset when it dawned upon me that my delightful earrings would not gild my days for eternity. They had until this day, but not any farther. Their time had come.

Nostalgically placing the lost earring’s now lonely twin back into my jewellery box this evening I understood that this was the final fate of my silver-green favourites; one lost forever, one remaining to remind me of times that now had passed. But they are pleasant times to remember and I should therefore not mourn my loss but instead think back upon all the delightful times we shared.

And, somewhere out in that beech forest my favourite earring now lies below the withered leaves. Windflowers grow there, breathing life into a carpet deposited by last year’s chilly autumn winds. High above tower the crowns of proud beeches, protecting what is below with their vast expansion.

The are worse final fates for a favourite in this world.

Have you ever lost a favourite or something you hold dear?

2 Responses to “The Final Fate Of Favourites”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Yes Elisabeth, but I could never describe it as eloquently as you!
    A favorite pair of sunglasses (Rayban Wayfarer II) left behind years ago at a diner near the boardwalks of Newport Beach. Lately, I’ve been seeing the same glasses worn by the seriously fashionable on the Sartorialist and Garance Dore— and I lament! They have become a coveted vintage find…


    • Although it is of little comfort and most likely even lesser belief, I am certain that someone treasures your pair of sunglasses. Bit indeed, it is always regretful to leave something beloved behind by mistake–.


Leave a Reply

